Superhero Summer Crafts Events

June 22, 2017

Join us over the summer holidays for some superhero themed craft events at your local library. Booking is required for all sessions except for those taking place in Tarbolton and Maybole libraries. All our events are FREE!

Crafts for Little Heroes aged 2 – 5 years

Alloway Library, Doonholm Road, Ayr
Tel: 01292 442395

Thursday 13 July, 10.30am – 11.30am
Thursday 27 July, 10.30am – 11.30am
Thursday 10 August, 10.30am – 11.30am

Carnegie Library, 12 Main Street, Ayr
Tel: 01292 286385

Thursday 13 July, 2pm – 3pm

Crafts for Heroes aged 5- 8 years

Carnegie Library, 12 Main Street, Ayr
Tel: 01292 286385

Monday 17 July, 2pm – 3pm
Monday 24 July, 2pm – 3pm
Monday 31 July, 2pm – 3pm

Crafts for Heroes aged 5- 11 years

Alloway Library, Doonholm Road, Ayr
Tel: 01292 442395

Tuesday 11 July, 2.30pm – 3.30pm
Tuesday 25 July, 2.30pm – 3.30pm
Tuesday 8 August, 2.30pm – 3.30pm

Forehill Library, 31 Mount Oliphant Crescent, Ayr
Tel: 01292 265591

Wednesday 5 July, 11.30 – 12.30pm
Wednesday 26 July, 2.15 – 3.15pm
Wednesday 9 August, 2.15 – 3.15pm

Girvan Library, Montgomerie Street, Girvan
Tel: 01465 712813

Wednesday 5 July, 11am – 12 noon
Wednesday 19 July, 11am – 12 noon
Monday 31 July, 2.30pm – 3.30pm
Tuesday 15 August, 2.30pm – 3.30pm

John Rodie Library, 39 Annbank Road, Mossblown
Tel: 01292 520792

Tuesday 4 July, 3pm – 4pm
Tuesday 11 July, 3pm – 4pm
Tuesday 18 July, 3pm – 4pm
Tuesday 25 July, 3pm – 4pm

Prestwick Library, 14 Kyle Street, Prestwick
Tel: 01292 476769

Friday 21 July, 3.30pm – 4.30 pm

Symington Library, Brewlands Road, Symington
Tel: 01563 830066

Tuesday 4 July, 2pm – 3pm
Tuesday 25 July, 2pm – 3pm
Tuesday, 1 August, 2pm – 3pm

Troon Library, 5 South Beach, Troon
Tel: 01292 315352

Monday 10 July, 2pm – 3.30pm
Friday 11 August, 2pm – 3.30pm

Drop in sessions – no need to book!

Maybole Library, 1 High Street, Maybole
Suitable for ages 5-11 years

Monday 3 July, 2pm – 3pm
Monday 17 July, 2pm – 3pm
Monday 24 July, 2pm – 3pm
Friday 21 July, 3pm – 4pm
Friday 28 July, 3pm – 4pm

Tarbolton Library, Tarbolton Community Campus, Montgomerie Street, Tarbolton
Suitable for ages 5-11 years

Drop in anytime during library opening hours at Tarbolton Library throughout the summer holidays for fun with crafts. No need to book.

Join the global eBook club – The Big Library Read

June 13, 2017

Join in The Big Library Read – the worldwide digital book club that connects millions of readers around the world with the same eBook at the same time without any wait lists or holds. All you need to get started reading is a library card.

The Other Einstein by Marie Benedict

In the tradition of The Paris Wife and Mrs. Poe, The Other Einstein offers us a window into a brilliant, fascinating woman whose light was lost in Einstein’s enormous shadow. It is the story of Einstein’s wife, a brilliant physicist in her own right, whose contribution to the special theory of relativity is hotly debated and may have been inspired by her own profound and very personal insight.

Mitza Maric has always been a little different from other girls. Most twenty-year-olds are wives by now, not studying physics at an elite Zurich University with only male students trying to outdo her clever calculations. But Mitza is smart enough to know that, for her, math is an easier path than marriage. And then fellow student Albert Einstein takes an interest in her, and the world turns sideways. Theirs becomes a partnership of the mind and of the heart, but there might not be room for more than one genius in a marriage.

The Big Library Read runs from June 12 – June 26, 2017.

Share your thoughts on social media with #biglibraryread

‘Football daft’ author Danny Scott wowed Annbank P4s and P5s during a recent visit to the John Rodie Library

June 5, 2017

Everyone went football crazy when children’s author Danny’s Scott visited the new John Rodie Library at Mossblown. The children had a go at some fun football challenges, and even got to lift the ‘World Cup’! Danny also read from one of his books, Calum’s New Team, part of the Scotland Stars FC series,  which is available at all our libraries.

Everyone had such a great day. Thanks for visiting Danny!

Author Thomas McKerley visits Troon Library

May 24, 2017

We had a fantastic evening at Troon Library last Wednesday when we were joined by author Thomas McKerley. Tom chatted about his inspirations for writing and the genealogy that is at the heart of his books with co-author Ingrid Schippers. The busy event finished with a Q&A session, with some excellent questions from our audience members – and great answers by Tom of course.

You can find Tom and Ingrid’s books on our library catalogue Bloodlines – Touch Not the Cat and Bloodlines – Traces, a mystery series on cultural inheritance.

Bookbug’s Big Giggle at Girvan Library

May 23, 2017

We had a lovely morning with our beautiful little gigglers as we celebrated Bookbug Week at Girvan Library 😍😂

Congratulations to Olivia who won the coveted mini Bookbug, and brothers Tom and Jack for winning “That’s not my train”. They were absolutely delighted!

Catch the reading bug at your local library, join us at our weekly Bookbug Sessions.

Bookbug’s Big Giggle at Symington Library

May 22, 2017

We had a Higgledy Piggeldy Day at Symington Library to get some giggles for Bookbug Week and we had some very original fashion choices! We had tickle rhymes, a photo booth to get a souvenir snap with Bookbug, a mask making craft, a story called I Love You Just The Way You Are by Tammi Salzano (it seemed quite appropriate) and of course BUBBLES!!

The prize for best Higgledy Piggledy costume went to Emelie and Callan – superb costumes!

Thank you all the mums and tots who came along and joined in wonderfully.

The 1st Alloway Guides had a sleepover at the library

May 12, 2017

Last Friday night the 1st Alloway Guides enjoyed a sleepover at Ayr’s Carnegie Library. Before it was time to get into their sleeping bags, the girls enjoyed a book treasure hunt, read all about the history of the library and researched their family tree. The girls had a great time and said it was a night they will never forget… lucky no one told them about our resident library ghost before the lights went out! 👻 😱

‘Happily Ever Laughter Lines’ with Ronnie Russell at Troon Library

May 2, 2017

We had a brilliant night at Troon Library last Wednesday, when we were joined by well known local cartoonist Ronnie Russell. Ronnie had everyone in stitches with his cartoon drawings full of anecdotes about life’s milestones.

Don’t miss your chance for an evening filled with laughter, Ronnie will be back again at Troon Library on Wednesday 13 September. To book your free place Tel: 01292 315352.

Girvan Library’s Afternoon Film Club Presents

April 20, 2017

Join us for an afternoon movie at Girvan Library’s film club. Sit back, relax and enjoy a well known film at our monthly showings.

Monday 8 May, 2pm This month’s film is an action thriller… “Three measures of Gordon’s; one of vodka; half a measure of Kina Lillet. Shake it over ice, and add a thin slice of lemon peel.”

Also showing this May…

Wednesday 31 May, 2pm To coincide with the Scottish Opera Mobile visiting Girvan at the end of May, Girvan Library’s Pop Up Film Club will be screening Andrew Lloyd Webber’s ‘The PHANTOM of the OPERA’.

To book your FREE place for either of these events, please visit Girvan LibraryMontgomerie Street, Girvan KA26 9HE or Tel: 01465 712 813

New Bookbug Sessions – Catch the reading bug at your local library!

April 7, 2017

Come along and join us for these free, fun and friendly events for babies, toddlers, pre-schoolers and their families to enjoy together. Each session lasts around 30 minutes and includes songs, stories and rhymes. There is usually no need to book (except for Troon and sessions), they take place in a very relaxed environment and are a great opportunity to spend some quality time with your little one.

Session dates, time and locations

Ayr Carnegie Library, 12 Main Street, Ayr KA8 8EB Tel:01292 286385

Bookbug (for birth to 4 years)
Every Monday at 1.45pm
24 April – 26 June
(except 1 & 29 May)

Bookbug Toddler  (recommended for 18 months to 4 years)
Every Tuesday at 10.30am
18 April – 27 June

Baby Bookbug  (recommended for birth to 18 months)
Every Thursday at 10.30am
20 April – 29 June

Bookbug (for birth to 4 years)
Every Saturday at 11am
22 April – 24 June

Alloway Library, Doonholm Road, Alloway KA7 4QQ Tel:01292 442395

Bookbug (for birth to 4 years)
Every Thursday at 10.15am & 11am
20 April – 15 June

Forehill Library, 31 Mount Oliphant Crescent, Ayr KA7 3EN Tel: 01292 265591

Bookbug (for birth to 4 years)
Every Wednesday at 10.30am
10 May – 14 June

Girvan Library, Montgomerie Street, Girvan  KA26 9HE Tel: 01465 712813

Bookbug (for birth to 4 years)
Every Friday at 10.30am
21 April – 30 June

Maybole Library, 1 High Street, Maybole KA19 7AB Tel:01655 883044

Bookbug (for birth to 4 years)
Every Tuesday at 2pm
18 April – 13 June

Mossblown Library, Annbank Road, Mossblown KA6 5BH Tel:01292 520792

Bookbug (for birth to 4 years)
Please contact the library direct for details of their sessions.

Prestwick Library, 14 Kyle Street, Prestwick KA9 1PQ Tel: 01292 476769

Bookbug (for birth to 4 years)
Every Wednesday at 2pm
19 April – 28 June
(except 3 May)

Symington Library, 15 Brewlands Road, Symington KA1 5QZ Tel: 01563 830066

Bookbug (for birth to 4 years)
Every Thursday at 2pm
20 April – 22 June

Tarbolton LibraryTarbolton Community Campus, Montgomerie Street, Tarbolton KA5 5QA

Tel: 01292 541211

Bookbug (for birth to 4 years)
Every Friday at 1.30pm
21 April – 23 June

Troon Library, South Beach, Troon KA10 6EF Tel: 01292 315352

Bookbug (for birth to 4 years)
Due to demand, booking is essential for Troon sessions
Every Wednesday at 9.15am and 2.15pm
19 April – 21 June

If you would like more information please contact Renee on 01292 272232 or Ailsa on 01292 272247, or you can email us.