Meet Libby… A fresh and easy way to borrow and read from your library

July 11, 2017

Download ‘Libby’, the new app to let you discover and instantly enjoy thousands of ebooks and audiobooks FREE from your library.

  • Ground-breaking ebook reader, and a beautiful audiobook player.
  • It only takes a few taps to find and borrow a title.
  • Download books and audiobooks for offline reading, or stream them to save space.
  • Sample any book with a tap – nothing to download or delete.
  • Perfect for travelling or when you are on the ‘go’.
  • Try a zoomable graphic novel, or a picture book with readalong audio.

To find out more visit https://meet.libbyapp.com

Create your own Comic Book at Alloway Library

July 6, 2017

Tuesday 18 July, 2.30pm – 3.30pm
Tuesday 1 August, 2.30pm – 3.30pm

Free events suitable for ages 5-11 years.

To book your place please telephone 01292 442395
or visit Alloway Library.

Ronnie Russell Cartoon Workshops at Troon Library

July 4, 2017

 

Join us for cartoon and art workshops with well-known local artist Ronnie Russell at Troon Library. The workshops are free and you can come along dressed up as your favourite superhero (optional).

Spaces still available for
Wednesday 9 August, 2pm – 3pm

Suitable for ages 5-12 years. To book a place please call 01292 315352 or visit Troon Library.

Ailsa Shipyard Exhibition at Troon Library

July 3, 2017


On display throughout the month of July – An exhibition of photographs and memorabilia of the Ailsa Shipyardat Troon Library.

Entry is Free | Troon Library, 5 South Beach, Troon KA10 6EF

Summer Bookbug Sessions at Carnegie Library

June 30, 2017

Come along and catch the reading bug at Ayr’s Carnegie Library this summer. The sessions are fun, free and friendly events for babies, toddlers, pre-schoolers and their families to enjoy together.

Wednesday 5 July, 10.30am – 11am
Wednesday 12 July, 10.30am – 11am
Wednesday 19 July, 10.30am – 11am
Wednesday 26 July, 10.30am – 11am

Suitable for birth – 4 years, no need to book just come along.

Carnegie Library, 12 Main Street, Ayr KA8 8EB Tel: 01292 286385

Summer Holiday LEGO Sessions

June 29, 2017

Come along and build something awesome at our LEGO sessions this summer. We have events taking place at Alloway, Carnegie and Forehill libraries over the school holidays. The sessions are FREE, suitable for ages 3-11 years and there is no need to book – just drop in.

Alloway Library, Doonholm Road, Ayr
Every Monday from 3 July – 14 August, 1.30pm – 4.30pm

Carnegie Library, 12 Main Street, Ayr
Thursday 20 and 27 July, 2pm – 3pm

Forehill Library, 31 – 33 Mount Oliphant Crescent, Ayr
Wednesday 12 July, 10am – 12 noon and 2pm – 4pm
Wednesday 2 August, 10am – 12 noon and 2pm – 4pm

Crafts and Superhero Selfies at Prestwick Library

June 27, 2017

We made jumping jack characters (Hulk, Captain America, Wonder Woman, Batman, Spiderman), designed our own superhero masks and cuffs to wear, put on our capes…and KAPOW! We were ready for action 📸😎

After crafts and superhero selfies we had lots of new recruits signing up for ‘Heroes’, this year’s Summer Reading Challenge. This bunch will be saving the world in no time, they’ve already managed to achieve their first superhero reward!

Would you like to become a hero? Come and join our craft sessions or sign up for our Summer Reading Challenge. It’s FREE to enter, suitable for ages 5-12 years and you can take part at every library in South Ayrshire from Monday 26 June until Saturday 19 August 2017.

Calling all Heroes for our Summer Reading Challenge

June 26, 2017

 

Zoom down to your local library. Bam! Sign up for our Superhero Summer Reading Challenge. Pow! Win superhero rewards for every book you read – hero gliders, stickers, pencils, notepads and more!

Our Summer Reading Challenge is FREE to enter, suitable for ages 5-12 years and you can take part at every library in South Ayrshire from Monday 26 June until Saturday 19 August 2017.

 

Superhero Summer Crafts Events

June 22, 2017

Join us over the summer holidays for some superhero themed craft events at your local library. Booking is required for all sessions except for those taking place in Tarbolton and Maybole libraries. All our events are FREE!

Crafts for Little Heroes aged 2 – 5 years

Alloway Library, Doonholm Road, Ayr
Tel: 01292 442395

Thursday 13 July, 10.30am – 11.30am
Thursday 27 July, 10.30am – 11.30am
Thursday 10 August, 10.30am – 11.30am

Carnegie Library, 12 Main Street, Ayr
Tel: 01292 286385

Thursday 13 July, 2pm – 3pm

Crafts for Heroes aged 5- 8 years

Carnegie Library, 12 Main Street, Ayr
Tel: 01292 286385

Monday 17 July, 2pm – 3pm
Monday 24 July, 2pm – 3pm
Monday 31 July, 2pm – 3pm

Crafts for Heroes aged 5- 11 years

Alloway Library, Doonholm Road, Ayr
Tel: 01292 442395

Tuesday 11 July, 2.30pm – 3.30pm
Tuesday 25 July, 2.30pm – 3.30pm
Tuesday 8 August, 2.30pm – 3.30pm

Forehill Library, 31 Mount Oliphant Crescent, Ayr
Tel: 01292 265591

Wednesday 5 July, 11.30 – 12.30pm
Wednesday 26 July, 2.15 – 3.15pm
Wednesday 9 August, 2.15 – 3.15pm

Girvan Library, Montgomerie Street, Girvan
Tel: 01465 712813

Wednesday 5 July, 11am – 12 noon
Wednesday 19 July, 11am – 12 noon
Monday 31 July, 2.30pm – 3.30pm
Tuesday 15 August, 2.30pm – 3.30pm

John Rodie Library, 39 Annbank Road, Mossblown
Tel: 01292 520792

Tuesday 4 July, 3pm – 4pm
Tuesday 11 July, 3pm – 4pm
Tuesday 18 July, 3pm – 4pm
Tuesday 25 July, 3pm – 4pm

Prestwick Library, 14 Kyle Street, Prestwick
Tel: 01292 476769

Friday 21 July, 3.30pm – 4.30 pm

Symington Library, Brewlands Road, Symington
Tel: 01563 830066

Tuesday 4 July, 2pm – 3pm
Tuesday 25 July, 2pm – 3pm
Tuesday, 1 August, 2pm – 3pm

Troon Library, 5 South Beach, Troon
Tel: 01292 315352

Monday 10 July, 2pm – 3.30pm
Friday 11 August, 2pm – 3.30pm

Drop in sessions – no need to book!

Maybole Library, 1 High Street, Maybole
Suitable for ages 5-11 years

Monday 3 July, 2pm – 3pm
Monday 17 July, 2pm – 3pm
Monday 24 July, 2pm – 3pm
Friday 21 July, 3pm – 4pm
Friday 28 July, 3pm – 4pm

Tarbolton Library, Tarbolton Community Campus, Montgomerie Street, Tarbolton
Suitable for ages 5-11 years

Drop in anytime during library opening hours at Tarbolton Library throughout the summer holidays for fun with crafts. No need to book.

Join the global eBook club – The Big Library Read

June 13, 2017

Join in The Big Library Read – the worldwide digital book club that connects millions of readers around the world with the same eBook at the same time without any wait lists or holds. All you need to get started reading is a library card.

The Other Einstein by Marie Benedict

In the tradition of The Paris Wife and Mrs. Poe, The Other Einstein offers us a window into a brilliant, fascinating woman whose light was lost in Einstein’s enormous shadow. It is the story of Einstein’s wife, a brilliant physicist in her own right, whose contribution to the special theory of relativity is hotly debated and may have been inspired by her own profound and very personal insight.

Mitza Maric has always been a little different from other girls. Most twenty-year-olds are wives by now, not studying physics at an elite Zurich University with only male students trying to outdo her clever calculations. But Mitza is smart enough to know that, for her, math is an easier path than marriage. And then fellow student Albert Einstein takes an interest in her, and the world turns sideways. Theirs becomes a partnership of the mind and of the heart, but there might not be room for more than one genius in a marriage.

The Big Library Read runs from June 12 – June 26, 2017.

Share your thoughts on social media with #biglibraryread