Darkly Dreaming Dexter

As we mentioned on Monday September is Crime Thriller month and there are many new crime thriller titles that we will be promoting and adding to our library catalogue, but I just couldn’t resist mentioning an absolute favourite of mine…

Dexter by Jeff LindsayWhen it comes to what I watch or read I tend to stay away from anything that is too scary, too gory or likely to render me unable to go bed without first checking under it.  So it came as a bit of a surprise that I should fall in love, not only with the books, but the TV series of Dexter.  The reason I didn’t think I would enjoy it, well, not only is Dexter a blood splatter pattern analyst for the Miami Metro Police Department, by night he is also a serial killer who likes to chop his victims up into tiny little pieces before disposing of them.  In the end so many people had recommended that I watch the TV series that curiosity finally got the better of me and how right they were. From episode one I was well and truly hooked.  I watched the first three seasons in quick succession enjoying each one better than the last, so when season 3 finished and I found myself with a whole two weeks to ‘kill’, desperately needing my fix of Dexter I dived into the books by Jeff Lindsay. I was not disappointed.  I don’t want to give too much away, but the books and the TV series don’t go hand in hand so you won’t spoil your viewing by reading the books or vice versa.  What I will share is both the books and the TV series will have you on the edge of your seat and hungry for more.  I am almost finished book number three ‘Dexter in the Dark’ and already scanning the library catalogue for my next victim.

Find Dexter items on our library catalogue

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “Darkly Dreaming Dexter”

  1. C. H. Kelly Says:

    Dexter had a code,
    Hannibal had an appetite,
    Malcolm just has fun.

    My Novel “A Shadow Over Vegas” will release 2/11/2014. As a first time novelist I am seeking reviews prior to my release. You may preview the prologue and the first two chapters at my website http://www.chkelly.com. If you would be so kind as review this story please email me at reviews@chkelly.com and I will email back a PDF copy.
    Thank you for your consideration.

Leave a Reply

