Prize Winning Authors

And the Land Lay Still by James RobertsonWe’re thrilled that James Robertson’s wonderful novel And The Land Lay Still has won the Saltire Society Scottish book of the year award!

And the Land Lay Still: A panoramic novel charting sixty years of change in Scotland, and a sweeping story of family, friendship, struggle and hope. Tracing the intertwined lives of an unforgettable cast of characters, James Robertson’s new novel is a searching journey into the heart of a country of high hopes and unfulfilled dreams, private compromises and hidden agendas. Brilliantly blending the personal and the political, And The Land Stay Still sweeps away the dust and grime of the postwar years to reveal a rich mosaic of 20th-century Scottish life.

The Still Point by Amy SackvilleStaying with prizes

Amy Sackville’s The Still Point, her debut novel and published by Portobello, has won the John Llewellyn Rhys Prize for writers aged 35 and under. Sackville’s novel scooped a £5,000 prize, with each of the five shortlisted authors winning £500 each. The Still Point focuses on the disappearance of an Arctic explorer at the turn of the twentieth century, and the impact of the secrets of his life on his family generations on. She was called a “writer of seemingly limitless promise” by chair of the judges, Claire Allfree.


Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: