Walter Scott Prize for historical fiction

Shortlist announced

Six great novels have been short-listed for the Walter Scott Prize. The £25,000 prize donated by the Duke and Duchess of Buccleuch, honours the achievements of Sir Walter Scott, the founding father of the historical novel. It is the biggest annual UK literary award to be judged outside London.

The winner will be announced on Saturday 18th June at the Borders Book Festival. Last year’s prize went to Hilary Mantel for her novel Wolf Hall.

The shortlist for the 2011 award is:


Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: